On the mend

Last weekend for Easter I flew down to my old hometown of Christchurch in the South Island of New Zealand. The city was hit by a monstrous earthquake in February 2011 killing more than 185 people in one of the nation’s deadliest natural disasters.

It was my first time going back since the earthquake and it hit me pretty hard seeing all the rubble piled up on the streets. Luckily, the city is on the mend as well as the hearts of the locals. They have opened up Cashel Street with beautiful container stores and to my surprise they had also opened up Demetri’s Souvlaki store. My favorite eatery in town!

It’s going to be a slow process but I have no doubt that the ‘City of Gardens’ will restore its beauty again.

Leave a Reply

